How to add new parameters as output

Post Reply
jcardoso
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 10:17 am
company / institution: Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences
Location: Brussels

How to add new parameters as output

Post by jcardoso » Fri Apr 05, 2019 1:23 pm

Dear François,

Is it possible to have the AOT, SZA and maybe the solar flux for each band as extra output parameters?
I am using Polymer 4.10.

Thank you in advance,
Joao.
User avatar
fsteinmetz
Site Admin
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 1:34 pm
company / institution: Hygeos
Location: Lille, France
Contact:

Re: How to add new parameters as output

Post by fsteinmetz » Mon Apr 08, 2019 7:20 am

Dear Joao,

Adding parameters to the output can be done as follows :

Code: Select all

from polymer.level2 import default_datasets

run_atm_corr(l1, Level2_NETCDF(..., datasets=default_datasets+['sza', 'F0']))
But two remarks :
  • The aerosol optical thickness is not estimated in Polymer. This is due to the atmospheric model relying on a polynomial, and not on aerosol physical modelling.
  • The solar irradiance is not available for all sensors, because in some cases the Level1 provides directly TOA reflectances. When available (just for MERIS and OLCI), you can add the parameter 'F0' to the list of dataset to be written in the Level2. I have never tried to write this parameter actually but it should work, tell me if it does not!
jcardoso
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 10:17 am
company / institution: Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences
Location: Brussels

Re: How to add new parameters as output

Post by jcardoso » Thu Apr 18, 2019 11:27 am

Thank you François,

The code you sent me is working for F0 applied to OLCI S3A data and the values are good!

During processing I received a message. This message is appearing any time, not only with the new parameters but since before using just the defaut_parameters. See the warning below:

Starting processing at 2019-04-18 09:59:49.647873
height=2724, width=4865
Initializing output file "/home/user/OLCI_L2_Polymer/S3A_OL_20170119T103114.POLY.nc"
Processing block: size (100, 4865), offset (0, 0)
/home/user/polymer-v4.10/polymer/luts.py:407: FutureWarning: Using a non-tuple sequence for multidimensional indexing is deprecated; use `arr[tuple(seq)]` instead of `arr[seq]`. In the future this will be interpreted as an array index, `arr[np.array(seq)]`, which will result either in an error or a different result.

I didn't observe any problem with the data and values.
Just to inform you and to know if it's okay.

Regards,
Joao.
User avatar
fsteinmetz
Site Admin
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 1:34 pm
company / institution: Hygeos
Location: Lille, France
Contact:

Re: How to add new parameters as output

Post by fsteinmetz » Thu Apr 18, 2019 12:41 pm

Great news!
The warning is ok, it does not affect the results. I'll try to get rid of it in the future.
Thanks for the feedback,
François
Post Reply